Baltimore Catechism - Q. 1096. What are the seven dolor beads, and how do we say them?

A. Seven dolor beads are beads constructed with seven medals, each bearing a representation of one of the seven dolors, and seven beads between each medal and the next. At each medal we meditate on the proper dolor and the say a Hail Mary on each of the bead following it.




The Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary:

1. The prophecy of Simeon.

2. The flight into Egypt.

3. The loss of the Child Jesus in the temple.

4. The meeting of Jesus and Mary on the Way of the Cross.

5. The Crucifixion.

6. The taking down of the Body of Jesus from the Cross.

7. The burial of Jesus.


Method of reciting the Crown or Chaplet of Seven Sorrows on the Seven Dolor Beads:

(i). Act of Contrition [O my God! I am heartily sorry for having offended Thee; and I detest all my sins, because I dread the loss of heaven and the pains of hell, but most of all because they offend Thee, my God, Who art all good, and deserving of all my love. I firmly resolve, with the help of Thy grace, to confess my sins, to do penance, and to amend my life. Amen.]

(ii). Meditate on the 1st Sorrow. Pray 1 Our Father & 7 Hail Marys in honour of the sorrow.

(iii). Repeat the above step II for all the Seven Sorrows.

(iv). After offering 1 Our Father & 7 Hail Marys in honour of all seven sorrows, then pray 3 Hail Marys for obtaining perfect contrition for our sins, in honour of the tears shed by Mary during her sorrows.

(v). Concluding prayers:
V - Pray for us Oh Sorrowful Mother of Jesus;
R - that we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

Prayer: Grant, we beseech Thee, O Lord Jesus Christ, that the Blessed Virgin, thy Mother may intercede for us with thy clemency, now and at the hour of our death; who, in the hour of thy Passion, was pierced in her most holy soul by a sword of sorrow; grant this, O Jesus Christ, Saviour of the world, who livest and reignest with the Father and the Holy Ghost, world without end. Amen.



I. 200 days for each Our Father and Hail Mary, when recited on Fridays, on all the days of Lent, and on the Feast of Seven Sorrows, in any place whatever.

II. 100 days for each recital in any place or any time, together with seven years and seven quarantines.

III. Plenary, with confession and communion, for those who have said it daily for a month.

IV. 100 years for each recital.

V. 150 years for Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

VI. Plenary, once a year, for those who recite it at least four times a week.

VII. 200 years for those who recite it after confession.

All the above indulgences are applicable to the dead.


Source: Manual of Devotions of Our Lady of Sorrows, Edition 1861

Mater Dolorosa, Ora pro nobis.